top of page

Stutterheim-Cathcart-Ntabethemba

On a sunny Tuesday in February 2019, I took the scenic N6 route from King William's Town to the charming hills of Ntabethemba near Tarkastad. Along the route, I came across beautiful villages so immaculately placed on luscious green breathtaking hills. I drove past the vintage town of Stutterheim with its colonial buildings, and came across stunning timber woodlands. I paused. Captured and enjoyed the moment.

Fast forward by 30 minutes, I was taking a turn from the N6 onto the R351 from Cathcart towards Whittlesea. In the midst of what seems to be an abandoned grazing land lies the alluring Waterdown Dam.I had to stop, gasp for air and immortalise the moment with my phone. The breeze was refreshing.

I quickly traded the R351 for the dusty roads of Ntabethemba. The sun seemed to be one with the beautiful green hills providing a stark contrast to the brown rocky roads.

I came across the beauty known Inqaba Yomnqwazi (Mountain with the hat). The mountain is notorious for capturing souls of travellers. Whoever goes up never comes down because of the spirits of the mountain. My phone camera yielded to the spirits of the money and for a moment everything stopped. Frozen at the foot of the mountain. I was in Ntabethemba; home.

All pictures were taken with a Huawei P20.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • SoundCloud Long Shadow
bottom of page